Cranberry Maple Sauce

Image

Happy Thanksgivingukkah!

Started the day with a yoga class and then came home to cook and then will stop in at a friends for dessert, if I can get T. to put his pants back on.  I’ll bring the apple crisp although it has a few bites out of it already…

I actually had not ever tried cranberry sauce til a few years after I moved to the US, and I’ve never tried the stuff in a can. Also, never in my life have I ever tried pumpkin pie. These were things we just never had growing up. The idea of pumpkin pie still kinda weirds me out so don’t think I will try that.

It’s so easy to make your own cranberry sauce, takes just minutes to whip up and then you can control the sweetness and what else goes in it. Usually I make it with honey but am guarding my special local raw honey and so used maple syrup instead-delicious and very New England-y.

This sauce is tart-add more maple syrup if you like it sweeter. I am looking forward to trying some of these ideas with the leftover cranberry sauce-no. 33 looks especially good! Check out some gluten free 35 ways to use leftover cranberry sauce.

Hope you are all enjoying a wonderful holiday!

Cranberry Maple Sauce

1 bag fresh cranberries (2 cups)

3/4 cup orange juice

1/2 cup maple syrup

optional-ginger, cloves, cinnamon

Boil this all til the cranberries start to burst-just a few minutes. It will thicken as it cools so don’t worry if it looks a bit runny.

Leave a Reply

